Yap Upward Bound Students visit Congress

Yap Upward Bound Students visit Congress 

PALIKIR, POHNPEI. April 26, 2016 – During the Yap Upward Bound 2016 College Visit in Pohnpei, the program scheduled a tour of the National Government compound where it once again visited the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia. 
The program has for the past years afforded its students not only the opportunity to learn about college life first hand, but also the opportunity to tour the National Government compound and meet with officials and staff to learn their roles and responsibilities to the Nation. In addition to its learning opportunity, the government tour allows students the opportunity to display their leadership skills and to exercise their oral presentations and thought processes. 
According to its mission statement, Upward Bound program is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. 
A better description of Upward Bound is that it provides fundamental support to participants in their preparation for college entrance. The program provides opportunities for participants to succeed in their precollege performance and ultimately in their higher education pursuits. Upward Bound serves: high school students from low-income families; and high school students from families in which neither parent holds a bachelor's degree. The goal of Upward Bound is to increase the rate at which participants complete secondary education and enroll in and graduate from institutions of postsecondary education.
The visit to Congress was headed by Yap Upward Bound program director Serphin Illesiuyalo along with chaperon Constance Lubueq and they were joined by Joyleen Sienes of the National Department of Education along with the following students:
1.         Briannatrish Yowtamag
2.         Francesca Ruwetam
3.         Anthony Biyou
4.         Devon Mirey
5.         Matthew Ruweday
6.         Julian Thingag
7.         Kathlene Peckalibe
8.         Leila Rrog
9.         Zane Mtin
10.       Selina Manna
11.       Leona Samantha Giltamag
12.       Debbie Betneg
13.       Jacinta Laan
14.       RayGlenn Fanoway
15.       Hilary Sohlith
The Congress portion of the tour concluded with the students provided explanations of and pamphlets on the structure of the National Government, especially the composition of the FSM Congress.  The Office of the Speaker completed the Congress portion of the government tour by providing light refreshments for the Yap Upward Bound students. 
*     *     *